Chair of the Raisin-South Nation Source Protection Committee Announced

04-Nov-2022 04-Nov-2022

The Raisin-South Nation Source Protection Committee has announced that retired farmer and active community member, Ray Beauregard, was recently re-appointed by the Ontario Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks for this important role under Ontario’s Clean Water Act, 2006.

The Clean Water Act, 2006 ensures that communities are able to protect their drinking water sources through the development of collaborative, locally driven, science‐based source protection plans for watersheds across the province. The Conservation Authorities manage the program, and the local Source Protection Committees guide the development of the source protection plan.  There are 19 Source Protection Committees in Ontario.

The Raisin-South Nation Source Protection Committee consists of 15 members plus a chairperson. The Committee represents the interests of the local municipalities, agricultural sector, commercial and industrial sectors, and the general public. The Committee also consists of liaisons from the Raisin and South Nation Source Protection Authorities, the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks and the local Health Unit.

Ray Beauregard continues to bring broad experience from various sectors and many years of service to the position as Chair.  Ray served as an elected Cornwall Township Councillor, South Stormont Deputy Mayor, and United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Councillor. He is the past chair of the Eastern Ontario Water Resources Committee, past president of the Cattlemen Association, and a long-time member of the Clean Water Committee. He has worked for various manufacturing companies, engineering firms, and the federal government.

“I am honoured to be re-appointed as Chair of the Source Protection Committee.  I have been on the Committee since 2008 and am proud of all our accomplishments to date to protect local municipal drinking water,” says Ray Beauregard.

There is currently a vacancy for the Raisin-South Nation Source Protection Committee. Eligible candidates interested in representing the public’s interest at large, having knowledge of local jurisdictions and drinking water issues are invited to submit their application by November 7th 2022 to: More information on the Drinking Water Source Protection Program can be found here:


FOR MORE INFORMATION: Erin Thorne, SNC Communications Specialist